DIY - Zaino application

Keeping your 8 looking the best at all times.

Moderator: zoom

BobsRX8GT
Validated Member

DIY - Zaino application

Post by BobsRX8GT » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:57 pm

[D] has asked me to do a guide to the use of Zaino products. First of all, I am not a pro detailer so please dont take this as gospel. I am but a humble enthusiast who likes to keep the cars clean and glossy. Zaino is very concentrated. A little goes a long way. I find an ounce of polish is enough to do the whole car. If you apply it too thick, you will get streaking and it is very difficult to remove the residue. It should almost look like there is nothing on the paint at all. Thin, even layers is what you are after.

The products I use are:

Z18 Claybar, Surface decontamination

Z7 Show car wash, Clay lubricant and car wash

ZAIO All in one cleaner polish, Cleaner with very light abrasives. Will not remove swirls easily

Z5Pro Show car polish, Polish and sealant. Contains fillers to help mask swirls and scratches

Z2Pro Show car polish for clear coats, Paint sealant, optical clarity increased over Z5, no fillers though

Z6 Ultra clean Gloss enhancing spray, Spray detailer allows molecular bonding of layers

Z8 Grand Finale spray seal, Spray sealant, awesome bling effect

ZFX Flash cure accelerator, A must if doing multiple layers. Allows Zaino to cure instantly

Concours 900 Dual action polisher, Probably the best Dual action machine you can get

Lake country CCS pads, Availible from http://www.waxit.com.au and http://www.zas.com.au

Aqua touch Microfiber towels. Great quality, different grades and wont scratch the paint as easily.

If you are using this system for the first time, it is important to correctly prepare the surface to ensure product adhesion and correct bonding.

STEP 1. is to completely wash the car using liquid DISH WASHING soap. Yes, I said dish washing soap.